Suncoast Energy (Orlando Airport) gas rip off


We just got back from a trip to Orlando where we witnessed the most extreme form of gas gouging I have ever seen. This is not a short term thing, like most cases, but an ongoing rip off. As there are general technical conferences at Disney every year, this is for my IT buddies.
 
As you come back to the Orlando airport, there are only gas stations on the north side of the airport. The first one you come to is Suncoast Energy. It has no placard announcing gas pricing, which is a danger signal. The price, last friday, was $3.99 per gallon. You see no other gas stations close by, so you pay. But, just 1/2 mile up the road is a 7-11 selling gas for $1.83.
 
My wife went in to question this practice and the guy said "we are the closest to the rental agencies". This is true. It would also make sense if they were charging 25 cents more for convenience, but $2.16 more? 218% more than other gas stations, which are making a profit?
 
Hey, it is America. He is free to rip people off. But I am also free to tell everyone about his practices.
 
Peace and Grace,
Greg

9 Responses to Suncoast Energy (Orlando Airport) gas rip off

  1. Unknown says:

    Ditto! I turned them into the Better Business Bureau of Central Florida and was told that the BBB cannot assist me with this matter. That all companies have the right to charge what they deem correct for their product or service. It is the consumer’s responsibility to do comparative shopping prior to accepting any offer or purchasing any product. UGH!

  2. Gregory says:

    Well, I am going to do what I can to ensure people I know do not get ripped off when going to Orlando. Even the Florida gas gouging group will not do anything about this station.Peace and Grace,Greg

  3. Lori says:

    I avoided this station tonight…I knew it was trouble with no price posted, so I made sure to check the pump…$3.999. Kept driving. Just a klick up the road, I tanked up at the 7-11 for $2.049.

  4. Unknown says:

    I got gouged there filling up my rental car back in Oct. Someone should try to turn them into the local TV news station. Some stations have a consumer protection segment and maybe they’ll pick this story up and shame the station into fair prices.

  5. Linda says:

    We also got gouged there – $4.69 a gallonl when most of the state was $2.79 a gallon on 1/8/10. I filed a complaint with the FLA Attorney general – not sure if it will do any good. Here’s a tip – check with your rental car company. We had Alamo and they got us for 2 gallons of gas because we were not quite full. Alamo charged us $3.79 a gallon. Expensive Yes but cheaper than the rip off Suncoast Energy.

  6. katey says:

    I completely agree with you all. I could not BELIEVE it. Of course my husband was the one getting gas and it didn’t cross his mind to check the price before pumping it. I was outraged and thought there had to be a technical difficulty because on 1/8/10 it was $4.69 and the man behind the counter said, "nope, that’s really the price." I could not believe it. I too think it should be unethical for someone to charge 200% more than the other gas stations. Absolutely terrible. I thought about writing to the president of the united states about the matter to put in some sort of regulation.

    • lorraine says:

      March 5 2011
      We also just got ripped off at $5.29 per gallon…14 gallons cost $75.00. How do they sleep at night. There should be some protection for the consumer. We will NOT be back to Florida.

  7. ripoffed says:

    I stopped at the same station last night. 10 gallons cost more than $50. I know I am an idiot and the owner of the station see everyone who filled the tank at the station an idiot as well. Do not worry about their sleep at night and feel bad about themselves. they are simply not normal human being. they are simply evils who take advantage of people in hurry, but believe me, they will pay what they did, one day or the another day.

  8. George Dugan says:

    Unfortunately I fell victim to this station today (6-20-2012) and paid $5.099 per gallon! You could not see the prices on the sign from the pumps because a bus was conveniently blocking the view.

Leave a comment