Bad Cord on Nook


I love my Nook. I have had it for about 2 years now. It started as something to play angry birds on, as I had a hard time reading books on it. Now, however, it is a great way to read most books.

My issue with it is the choice of a non-standard design for the USB power cord. I am not sure exactly what it is about the cord (most likely pin configuration), but you cannot use a standard micro-usb to charge a Nook. I had someone argue with me at Best Buy about this, as they have their demo Nooks hooked up to standard USB cords until showed them the Nook was being powered but the battery was not being charged. The Nook cords cost $10 and up, while a standard USB cord can be found for a couple of dollars.

I am not sure why Nook went with a nonstandard USB configuration. I assume it was to put a light on the Nook end? But that could easily be accomplished with a standard cord and a bit of ingenuity.

This, in and of itself, is not a problem. The problem is the Nook cord is so damned cheap. We now have two Nooks in the house and both have suffered the same issue. The cord simply falls apart. When it happened to my daughter’s cord, I assumed she was being a bit too hard on it. I, on the other hand, have been extremely careful in packing my cord. Mine still fell apart a few months after I initially bought it. I super glued it together, but it still fell apart this week again.

Nook Cord

Since my daughter’s cord was completely destroyed, I am going to take the little Nook end off and reglue this one. But, in the future, I will be more likely to go with a Kindle Fire than re-up with Nook, as this really irritates me.

Peace and Grace,
Greg

Twitter: @gbworld

Leave a Reply

