Visual Studio released. Microsoft reinvents download manager


I just got a chance to go to the MSDN site and see that Visual Studio is the hot topic of the day. This is not surprising, as the launch is happening out at DevConnections in Las Vegas. What is interesting is the various rebranding exercises I see and change of applications.

The first noticeable change is the rearrangement of the MSDN site. I wonder if this is only for the Visual Studio 2010 launch or a long term commitment to move all the left side links (downloads, etc) down the page to make room for more content.

image 

Once I got into MSDN downloads, I noticed some changes. First, I was asked to install a new downloader technology from Akamai. The new downloader appears to work with both ActiveX (default with IE) and Java, so I would imagine it increases your options to download. The new client looks like the screen shot below.

image

Interesting.

Here are the links:

Downloading in a hotel is a royal pain, so I will have these bits downloaded sometime this week. 🙂

Peace and Grace,
Greg

Twitter: @gbworld

Leave a Reply

