SQL Server 2008 SP1 released (and other downloads)


Somehow I missed this one in the last week, but the final release of SQL Server 2008 SP1 is out. Not a whole lot to report on the SP, as it is primarily tweeks and fixes. There is one new feature of note: Report Builder 2.0 click-once deployment. It seems like yesterday this release was a CTP, so go figure.
 
Other releases for the week:
 
  • Azure Services Training Kit, April update – if you are interested in cloud apps, this is your download.
  • STRACE – SSL/Socket tracer. It may just be the geek in me, but I think this one is pretty cool. Registration required.
  • Velocity CTP 3 – Velocity is the new caching project from Microsoft. This install requires .NET Framework 3.5 SP1 and PowerShell 1.0 .
  • Feature pack for SQL Server 2008 – I consider some of these features to be "mandatory" rather than add ons.

One more interesting tidbit. SharePoint Designer is now free. This was actually released last month, but I missed it. Since I am not doing much SharePoint these days, I am not surprised I missed it.

Peace and Grace,
Greg

Leave a Reply

