MVC 4 released


I started off tonight telling a friend he sucked. Not that he really sucked, but he beat me to MVC Preview 4. Microsoft guys, in their wisdom(?) decided to not release on www.asp.net and stuck to CodePlex (my bad!) until they had content.
 

First Impressions

Finally something you can cling to. Both AJAX and Membership are included. I am still in the process of seeing how far I can get with security trimmings, but my work on the ASP.NET Membeship codeplex may be over. This project is shaping up to something I can work with. I am in the process of working up specs for a project to release this fall for my church and I am now set to do it all in MVC.

Non MVC news

I am sitting out on my porch at 12:45 AM, smoking a cigar and sipping a Gentleman Jack. It is cool, but muggy. My daughter, Miranda, got her Micket button out today and it is a major milestone for me. So much has happened since her diagnosis with Ewing’s Sarcoma and now I feel we are getting there. We still have five years before we can celebrate completely, but life is good.

I sit here thinking about Cody, who passed earlier this year. And Kayla. And Julian.

This week, the Senate passed the Conquer Childhood Cancer Act. It is probably not enough, but I am thankful that more parents, like Cody’s, Kayla’s, and Julian’s (and others I know of that I cannot think of right now), may see some light. It is sad that our scientific community cannot get proper treatments to bear, but it is a step. Hopefully, this will make a difference. I am sure there is some parent out there tonight who has just lost a child, and for whom this is too late. And I feel for them. But I am thankful I am not them.

I am not sure where I am going next. My job is secure now, but I am not sure what I will be doing in the next few months or years. For now, I am just basking in the fact that I have reached a milestone that 30% of the parents who hear "your child has cancer" will never reach. My wife reminded me today of the day the doctor said "your child is cancer free". She still has a waiting game, five years, but the tumor is gone. The chemo is gone. And now, the feeding tube is gone.

I am about to go and bid adieu to a group that I have spent a lot of time in. Not because they are not good people, but because I do not feel the need to debate with them any more. Perhaps I will come back once this election is over.

There are people on both sides who are scared that "that guy" will be elected, whether it is Obama or McCain. In all truth, it really does not matter most. The political system in this country is broken, but at least the checks and balances stop anyone from screwing it up too bad. I am still not sure how I will vote. Either way, it is the less of two evils.

Well, to bed now and tomorrow to more of MVC and furthering my career. I still have a few more sips and I will sit and watch the full mooon. It is beautiful out tonight.

Peace and Grace,
Greg

3 Responses to MVC 4 released

  1. Kathleen says:

    Greg:
    I am so happy to read this post – I read your goodbye to the group today and wasn’t sure what it meant – I am glad that Miranda is doing so well.
     
    Kathleen

  2. Gregory says:

    I am just out of the groups until the election is over, at least. We will see what happens after that.
     
    Peace and Grace,
    Greg

  3. Directory says:

    Man Thats all we can Say, Life is great!                                                                                                                           .

Leave a Reply

