Geocaching and Waymarking


As many of you know, I got a new GPS device in February. I had been introduced to geocaching by a friend, Rebel Bailey (nickelpickle on geocaching.com) and I have been hooked. I found out last week that I could get a free premium one month membership ($3 value) by registering my unit, even though it is not a Colorado (shhhh!!!). I am going to buy a premium membership when it expires, as it gives me so many more features.

Here are my geocaching stats:

View my Profile

Just recently, I found out that Groundspeak has another site called waymarking.com, where you go and take pictures of different types of marks. As this activity is not as advertised, I have found plenty of sites that have not been waymarked yet. In many ways, this is more fun than geocaching. Nah! I take that back, as searching for something hidden adds an element.

Here are my waymarking stats:

Peace and Grace,
Greg

3 Responses to Geocaching and Waymarking

  1. Sarah says:

    Welcome to the world of geocaching 🙂  It’s been awhile since I’ve cached (as you’ve probably seen on my geocaching.com profile).  We’ve hit 200, but I have to steal my husband’s Axim to get our last finds out of Cachemate (excellent program for storing cache info while out).  I’ll be down your way at the end of October – so maybe we can meet and cache then? :)- Sarah (sadukie from Twitter)

  2. tonka_buy says:

    Welcome to the addiction! We’ve been geocaching for less than a year and we are having a blast. Now that the snow is melting, we can get back out there. If interested, we blog about geocaching at The Northwoods Geocats. If you stop by, sign our log – just like a real geocache.Norm

  3. tonka_buy says:

    Welcome to the addiction! We’ve been geocaching for less than a year and we are having a blast. Now that the snow is melting, we can get back out there. If interested, we blog about geocaching at The Northwoods Geocats. If you stop by, sign our log – just like a real geocache.Norm

Leave a Reply

