Why I am considering Vista a failed experiment


I am giving up. I surrender and I no longer care.

I did not give up easy. I was so jazzed about Vista I even gave the evangelism talk to many of my friends about how kewl Vista was. But, I can no longer afford to support betaware in a wrapper.

Since I have moved to Vista, I find that devenv.exe /resetuserdata is my friend. This is a sad state, because it means Visual Studio 2005 is essentially dead and you are resurrecting it. Today, no matter what switches I use, I cannot resurrect Visual Studio. And, I am throwing in the towel. Once Microsoft releases Orcas, I will likely be back, as I love a lot of Vista features.

R.I.P. My friend. Perhaps I will see you in the next life. 🙂

3 Responses to Why I am considering Vista a failed experiment

  1. Jason says:

    I knew that it was just a matter of time before you succumbed to the nightmare, codenamed "VISTA". I gave up on it the minute I realized I couldn’t support applications built in Visual Studio 2003.
     
    Welcome to the light, my son…

  2. Patrick Altman says:

    This is just silly.  I have been running Vista Ultimate on both my laptop and my home desktop for over 2 months now.  I am writing code in VS2003, VS2005, and Python in this OS and have had ZERO problems.  This is production level code, not simple hobby stuff.  Are you sure you guys are just having user errors?

  3. Gregory says:

    It could well be machine related. It is an HP after all. 🙂
    — GB

Leave a Reply

